RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF THE RUNOFF ELECTIONS FOR THE 2024 GENERAL AND SPECIAL ELECTIONS FOR MAYOR, DISTRICTS 1, 3, 4, 5, AND 7 AND MUNICIPAL COURT JUDGE COURT NO. 4

WHEREAS, the City Council of the City of El Paso called for the 2024 Runoff Elections to be held in said City on December 14, 2024, to fill the expired terms in the office of the Mayor, three District Representatives from Single-Member District Nos. 3, 4, and 7, and the Judge for the Municipal Court No. 4, and the vacancies in the office of District Representatives from Single-Member District Nos. 1 and 5 for the terms as established by and in accordance with the Charter of the City of El Paso and the laws of the State of Texas; and

WHEREAS, the election officers who held said runoff elections have duly made returns of the results thereof, and said returns have been duly delivered to said City Council.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF EL PASO:

- 1. That the City Council officially finds and determines that said elections were duly given, that proper notice of said elections were duly given, that proper election officers were duly appointed prior to said elections, that said elections were duly held, that due returns of the results of said elections have been duly made and delivered, that the elections returns have properly been made out and fully certified by the officers of said elections in the different voting precincts of the City, and that the City Council had duly canvassed said returns, all in accordance with law and the resolution thereto calling said runoff elections.
- 2. That the City Council officially finds and determines that the following votes were cast at said runoff elections for the following officers by the resident, qualified electors of said City, who voted at the elections:

MAYOR

Renard U. Johnson	19,630
Brian Kennedy	15,343

DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 1	
Alejandra "Ale" Chávez	4,765
Monica Reyes	2,766
DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 3	
Deanna Maldonado-Rocha	3,033
Jose Rodriguez	1,722
DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 4	Ut.
Joe "Chief" Molinar	1,792
Cynthia Boyar Trejo	2,137
DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 5	
Amanda Cunningham	717
Ivan Niño	1,212
DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 7	
Chris Hernandez	1,981
Lily Limón	2,748
JUDGE, MUNICIPAL COURT NO. 4	
	15,886
	-
Chris Hernandez	

3. That in the case of the following offices, the following persons who received more than a 50% majority of the votes cast for candidates for such offices are hereby declared elected to such offices for the ensuing terms, or until the elections and qualification of their successors, subject to the proper issuance of certificates of election by the presiding officer, and that the number of votes cast for each person who was a candidate for such offices, according to the returns, is shown in paragraph 2 hereof:

MAYOR

Renard U. Johnson

DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 1

Alejandra "Ale" Chávez

DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 3

Deanna Maldonado-Rocha

DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 4

Cynthia Boyar Trejo

DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO. 5

Ivan Niño

DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE NO.7

Lily Limón

JUDGE, MUNICIPAL COURT NO. 4

Samuel Flores

- 4. That on file in the City Clerk's Office and made a part hereof by reference are copies of the mechanical precinct tabulations of the votes cast at the December 14, 2024 Runoff Elections to elect the Mayor, Representatives for Districts 1, 3, 4, 5, and 7, and the Municipal Court Judge Court No. 4 showing the number of votes cast in each precinct for each candidate.
- 5. That this Resolution is adopted subject to the right of any candidate to contest such elections in any way provided by law.
- 6. That this Resolution was acted upon in accordance with the law by the presiding officer and the City Council and was deemed by said City Council that upon passage of the Resolution, it will take effect immediately.

7. This Resolution will be spread upon the minutes of the City Council, and the City Clerk will record the amendments so adopted in the separate book kept in her office for such purpose.

ADOPTED this 20th day of December, 2024.

Mayor

ATTEST:

Raura D. Prine Laura D. Prine

City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Russel T. Abeln

Russell T. Abeln

Senior Assistant City Attorney